Solo Victory for Spirit Tifosi’s Thomas Bustard on Stage 1 Suir Valley 3 Day

Suir3D17_1-Cahir_Result      Click here to download the PDF Results

Pos Nr UCI Code Surname, Name Team Time
1  BUSTARD Thomas Spirit Bike Tifosi Racing
2 MAZZONE Tom Team Isle of Man
3 CIGALA Matteo Aqua Blue “Team A”
4 LACEY Sean Aqua Blue “Team A”
5 MOYE Anthony Spirit Bike Tifosi Racing
6 DAVIES Conor Team Isle of Man
7  COLEMAN Douglas Spirit Bike Tifosi Racing
8 REILLY Chris Cycling Leinster
9 CLEMENS Ed Spirit Bike Tifosi Racing
10 HAHESSY Seán Aqua Blue “Team B”

Today the first stage of the Suir Valley 3 Day was won by Spirit Bikes Thomas Bustard who solo’d to victory following a very big day for him on the bike. The race started of at a very fast pace of 70kmph going to the first hotspot sprint of the day which was aided by a strong tailwind, attacks started straight away from the 0.0 km sign and coming into Carrick on Suir 3 riders Dermot Trulock Cycling Leinster , Anthony Moye & Ed Clemens of Spirit Tifosi Racing held a gap of 17 secs and the first hotspot of the day was won by Anthony Moye but as he was celebrating the first points of this years race teammate and eventual stage winner Thomas Bustard had a front wheel puncture in Carrick On Suir.

Coming out of Carrick on Suir the 1st KOM of the race was being challenged and there were some large gaps appearing on the climb and by the top of the KOM which was won by Dermot Trulock Cycling Leinster the peloton had split into a leading group of 39 riders and a second group of 37 riders, battling into the headwind was eventual winner Thomas Bustard who was strongly bridging the gaps alone. These 2no groups came together after a lot of hard work from a small number of riders one of them noted as being Ciaran Crean of Blarney (Kudos to you Ciaran) but a 9man group of Lacey, Chris Reilly,Eoin O’Connell, Cameron Woolsey, James Davenport, Simon Ryan, Conor Davies , Constantin Bartels and Leon Mazzone has nipped off the front of group 1 up the road and were riding well together to the 2nd KOM of the day which was won by Matteo Ciagala Aqua Blue at the Haysheds Climb. This group continued to work well together at the 46km mark they had built up a lead of 25 seconds on the chasing by split peloton. This group were also going to take the points for the next Hotspot of the day on the river Tay and the and Sean Lacey of Aquablue who won that sprint

It was only at 49kms the Thomas Bustard eventually got back into the peloton on the bottom of the climb of the Mau Mau (a new climb for the 2017 event) and he sat there resting waiting to pounce as the gaps came down due to a strong headwind up the Mau Mau. The first victor on this climb which has not been raced on since the early 90’s was won by Adam Stenson of Team Bikeworks but the time gaps of the break were lost and by 56kms the peloton was all together after the long decent into Kilbrien which favoured some of the more dare devil decenders (mentioning no names Richard Maes ;) . From Kilbride the race headed to Bearys cross and a number of small breaks were coming and going but nothing significant until group of 7 riders  found legs and moved away from the peloton namley Jamie Blanchfield Panduit Carrick Wheelers, Eoin O’Connell Killarney CC, Cian Sutcliffe & Sean Hahassey Aquablue, Ed Clemens and Thomas Bustard Spirit Tifosi and Charles Prendergast Planet X and it was Bustard who won the Ballymacarbry Prime as thier gap went to 24secs. The now 8 leaders joined by Stanley Kennett Surrey League had an advantage of46secs at 87kms but the agressor was Butard of Spirit Tifosi but all the time the time was coming down as the peoton had turned up a gear and were chasing the leading group, at 107 came disaster struck as Ben Trippier Maxxis 4 Racing came a tumbler but got up fine (we hope all is well Ben) and coming onto the last small drag at morrisons the leading group was dwindling away losing riders every KM but Thomas Bustard maintained his lead and continued to solo home. 4kms to go and it was the aqua blue and Strata3velo doing most of the chasing but Spirit Racings Thomas Bustard had toughed it out and at 500m to go he still had the gap and eventually powering home to a great vistory in the town of Cahir.

Suir3D17_1-Cahir_Result  Click here to download the PDF Results

Jerseys after Stage 1 : Clonmel – Cahir (August 5th)
Yellow Jersey – General Classification by time O’KEEFFE’S
BUSTARD Thomas Spirit Bike Tifosi Racing

Green Jersey – Points Classification HELIO GAS DETECTION
BUSTARD Thomas Spirit Bike Tifosi Racing
Jersey will be worn by:MAZZONE Tom Team Isle of Man

Polka Dot Jersey – KOM Classification VELO CHAMPION
CIGALA Matteo Aqua Blue “Team A”

Pink Jersey – Hot Spot Classification PINEWOOD HEALTHCARE
BUSTARD Thomas Spirit Bike Tifosi Racing
Jersey will be worn by: LACEY Sean Aqua Blue “Team A”

White Jersey – Stage Winner MORRISON BMW & MINI
BUSTARD Thomas Spirit Bike Tifosi Racing
Jersey will be worn by: MAES Richard Killarney Cycling Club “Team A”

Blue Jersey – 2nd Category by time CLONMEL BOROUGH COUNCIL
BUSTARD Thomas Spirit Bike Tifosi Racing
Jersey will be worn by: DAVIES Conor Team Isle of Man

Red Jersey – 3rd Category by time DEVILS BIT CIDER
FORRISTAL Paul Scott Orwell Wheelers

Combined Jersey – Most Aggressive Rider PLANET X
O’CONNELL Eoin Killarney Cycling Club “Team A”

This entry was posted in SV3 News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.